Original Work: zephyrbat

My Pitch for My Original Novel “zephyrbat”

By J. Bryan Jones

When the moonlight paints the earth blood red and a seven horned beast rises from the sea, what power and horror will beset humanity?  The apocalypse cannot be stopped, and humanity shall be caught between the armies of Heaven and Hell.

Emblem of a main character in “zephyrbat.”

Part I of “zephyrbat” takes place in the year 2005 where Seth is one of the last two humans on Earth who possesses the power of the angels after centuries of secret war. He was raised as a warrior to prevent the fall of man, but he questions his role in the apocalypse as he struggles to find the difference between right and wrong. As everyone he cares about continues to die, his rage seems bound to bring about Armageddon.

Only Seth’s unrequited love for Levana, 18, seems to stay his hand. Levana is so kind and beautiful that she is mistaken for an angel at one time. Her life, however, is far from perfect with an abusive father and a loss of direction in life. She considers refuge in the arms of Seth, but does not know if she belongs there or why Seth is afraid for her life.

In Part II, the two lovers have to suffer their actions’ consequences from the year 2050 onward. As a destined few battle through the spirit realm, Hell, and every corner of the Earth, they each declare their own versions of right and wrong, defying Heaven, Hell, or both. Will the philosophies of nihilism, determinism, or fatalism ring true in the end? Readers who enjoy fantastical fiction in a modern world will be compelled by the world of spirits, romance, and action with an allegorical backdrop.

“zephyrbat” is set to be my first novel. I estimate part I to be about 50,000 words once finished and part II is likely to at least double that length. I have published several articles on my personal popular culture website (leatherwingmedia.wordpress.com) in the last month with more coming. My posts indicate my breadth of knowledge on the genre and story-telling in general.

Please let me know if you’re interested in seeing a synopsis with three chapters of Part I and one chapter of Part II. Thank you very much for your time.

Sincerely,
J. Bryan Jones

Los Angeles, CA 90026
Email: zephyrbat@yahoo.com

To the people of the internet:  Please share this with anyone whom you think may be interested.  Writing samples are available upon request and will be posted online soon.  I am looking into adapting it to graphic novel form.  If you are interested in getting involved as an artist, let me know.

1 Comment

Filed under Comics, Entertainment, J Bryan Jones Fiction Work, Writing

One response to “Original Work: zephyrbat

  1. Pingback: Why I Write | Leather Wing Media

Leave a comment